Daily Archives: December 17, 2007

A Tall Order for Red Lipstick

lipstick.jpgI had breakfast the other day with a dear friend who said she is quitting wearing her trademark red lipstick because she thinks she’s getting too old for it! What a crock.

NO WOMAN who doesn’t yet need a wheelchair to get around is too old for anything as classic as red lipstick. I mean honestly.

Plus my friend looks absolutely fabulous in red lipstick, so much so that another of her friends and I comment about it when she’s not even around.

So here is my request: My friend might be persuaded to wear red lipstick again if she can find a cheap brand you can get online or at Target/Walmart/Kmart/drugstores rather than the upscale department stores. (Part of her reason for quitting red is that her brand, Clinique, is $14 a tube.)

I am looking for a bluish/purplish red (NOT an orange or pink red) matte lipstick, preferably with no scent, that you can either get online cheap, or at the drugstore (the place where, I know, most “red” lipsticks turn a horrible pink or orange when applied to your lips). Ideally, the price would be $12 or less a tube.

My friend is a hazel-eyed dyed blonde with fair skin, early 50s, handsome and attractive.

If you have any suggestions, please send email or leave a comment.

Thanks!