The U.S. Air Guitar Hall of Fame

Not only is there a U.S. Air Guitar championship, there’s a world competition as well. I’m a big fan of the air guitar competitions. I learned about them when I covered a regional event for AOL CityGuide last year:

No guitar is required at this excellent adventure where the competitors rock the house with spandex, eyeliner, flying fingers, tongue-flicks and nothing in their hands but the Spirit of Rock. Eight cities host regional competitions where guitar-god wannabes unleash their inner Jack Black with a high-decibel, no-instrument routine. Contestants are encouraged to choose an Ultracool Rock Alias for use in the competition, like last year’s winners at the world air guitar standoff, MiRi “Sonyk-Rok” Park and Tarquin “The Tarkness” Keys.

So, are you Bjorn Turoque? Have you got moves like Angus Young? Then you know where to take your bad self, your Robert Plant hairdo and your invisible axe on May 6…

This year’s U.S. winner is Craig “Hot Lixx Hulahan” Billmeier. Sadly, I don’t see any video yet of Hot Lixx in action up on the official competition site, but you can check out videos of the U.S. Air Guitar Hall of Fame performers here.

I like the Rockness Monster, last year’s winner. And I LOVE the 2004 winner, Sonyk-Rok. But it’s the 2003 U.S and World champ C-Diddy who really blows my mind. Maybe it’s my 80s childhood that leaves me so vulnerable to his cheesy, over-the-top stylings.

Actually, I think it’s the Hello Kitty breastplate.

the amazing C-Diddy

Leave a Reply

