This Post Is Brought to You By the Number 64

I got my test back today. My instructor, as always, is totally on the ball.

Coincidentally, I made the same grade on this test as I did on the last one:

sixty-four

Just like last time, I don’t feel so bad. I studied hard and did my best. I have homework and project grades (which I consistently do fairly well on) to help my final grade. If I fail, I fail. I studied hard and have a fair and highly competent instructor. I have no regrets.

And perhaps I am fooling myself, but I still feel like I am making progress and even despite two failing test grades, becoming more competent and more confident. Today in the math lab I did some hard problems mostly by myself. And I didn’t have time to finish two problems on the test, but except for a stupid copying error, I was absolutely doing them correctly (even though I was sure I was wrong).

I can’t say that this is a good semester, or that I am enjoying my studies or much able to look after my own health. And it is quite possible that I will fail this class. But I won’t give up, if only (LOL) beacuse if I withdraw I will have to pay back thousands in financial aid.

I cannot say this is a happy time in my life. But I have not yet surrendered competely to despair (so far my surrender is only partial).

Thank you for all your support and kind wishes. Where there is a high D, there is still hope, however faint or hard to fan into flame.

One response to “This Post Is Brought to You By the Number 64

  1. “But I have not yet surrendered competely to despair (so far my surrender is only partial).”

    Oh, I love it! I know *exactly* what you mean. And your attitude in the face of this is inspiring. So often, we don’t challenge ourselves for fear of failure, but failure carries its own (sometimes twisted) rewards, you know?

    Rock on!

Leave a Reply

