Epiphany

It’s January 6, Epiphany, the last of the 12 Days of Christmas. According to Canadian knitter Stephanie Pearl-MacPhee (whose fine blog I read) it’s the day to take down your Christmas decorations or face bad luck.

For me, it was the day to finally drag myself back to the gym, to take an excellent class there and see a friend there with her daughter. Gym friends I hadn’t seen in awhile were glad to see me, and I them. I came home and swept the floors, swept the back patio, Tilex’d the shower, mopped the front porch, and gathered up and recycled the last of the Christmas tissue paper that I’d put out on the living room floor for the cats to play on.

I think I’ll bake some cookies and see if I can get Rowan or Laura to meet me in the park and sit for awhile.

Can you tell that today I am feeling more like myself?

For me, it was the day to realize that if I rushed breakfast just a little, I really could make it to the gym in time for my favorite Saturday morning class, the one I used to never miss. Randee’d be there (as was her visiting daughter and the excellent gym-rat math tutor, Peter K., who asked how I did in calculus!). And best of all, now that the Holy of Holies is working again, I could listen to that silly Timelords mix of the Doctor Who theme on the way to the gym. I had such fun rocking out to this stupid song. As I pulled into the gym parking lot, I picked up my Rio and said, “I love you, little Rio Carbon.” Little pleasures. Little pleasures can make your day. What is life but little moments, little things like driving to the gym on a beautifully warm winter day, feeling the sun on your skin and listening to music that brings a smile to your face?

You know those songs that you play really loudly in your car, and at the stoplight you realize that you are a dork? If you have any sense at all, you won’t let that stop you. No pleasure should be a guilty pleasure. Like what you like. Have fun. Never let dignity shackle you.

I hope all of you have a day like this soon.

One response to “Epiphany

  1. “You know those songs that you play really loudly, and when you are at the stoplight you realize that you are a dork? If you have any sense at all, you won’t let that stop you.”

    AMEN! Well said, and so true.

Leave a Reply

