Strong Independent Woman

I’ve been called a strong, independent woman

because I have a job and can pay my bills.

I’ve been called a strong, independent woman

because I put myself through college,

and developed my talents and interests.

America, let’s drop that term

and come up with a new way to appreciate

anyone of either sex

who made it through life pretty well so far

by themselves,

with sense of humor intact.

(They probably had help anyway just

not from a spouse or lover.)

And it’s not like it’s not pretty tiresome sometimes to be so good

at being alone.

I get called a strong, independent woman,

but if I had

another option

nobody told me what it was.

One response to “Strong Independent Woman

  1. Nice poem from A STRONG INDEPENDENT WOMAN!! :)

Leave a Reply

