Watching a Face Through Time and Space

The American photographer Noah Kalina has been taking a picture of himself every day for the past seven years. Below is his video made from of some of the images from the first six years. The original music by Carly Comando is incredible, and the images are hypnotic and powerful.

You will be staring into the dark, intense eyes of a stranger for the next six minutes.

Kalina starts as a babyfaced young man, and by the end of the video, you can see the face of the middle-aged man that he will become. The music seems to grow darker as his youth gently fades. Here‘s an archive of the still images taken from 2000 to 2006.

This is the first thing I’ve seen on YouTube that I think really qualifies as art. I don’t remember how I found it. I just knew very quickly that I wanted others to see it.

One response to “Watching a Face Through Time and Space

  1. I remember seeing this video a short time ago and I think it is incredible. I’ve always loved time-lapse videos as a way to see changes that take place over long periods–I would love to see, for instance, a time lapse of a single location over an entire year. But this video is amazing and I cannot even guess at how much effort it would take to make. I would love to have done something like this myself; it would be so neat to see hairstyles change, facial hair, and just general aging.

Leave a Reply

