Summer Drought Is Statewide

drought2.jpg

My poor friend in West Yorkshire has a very different problem, but what I have begun to think of as a new era of weird weather is plaguing the Southeastern U.S. as well. My dad in Florida says that drought is so bad there that his South Florida city is considering permanent water restrictions. It hasn’t come to that here, but we are in are second straight summer of drought, with my part of the world experiencing severe drought.

The governor of my state has begun urging voluntary conservation.

http://citizen-times.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=200770703012

I am seriously considering xeriscaping my yard.

Check out the US Drought Monitor here, and the Southeast Drought Monitor here.

Leave a Reply

