How’s Your Weather?

In San Antonio, it seems Erik‘s summer has been mostly rained out, with CNN reporting flash floods, 11 deaths and 16 straight days of rainfall in Texas and Oklahoma.

And over in England, Cal recently found her little Yorkshire Derbyshire farm under six feet of water (her house only flooded up to a mere 25″).

calsflood.jpg

More from the BBC about the floods in Cal’s part of the world here.

Over here in the Southeastern U.S. we’re just having the worst drought in a century (bypass NYT registration here), with farmers going bankrupt, rivers sinking so low barges can’t ride them, and many areas temporarily banning 4th-of-July fireworks due to the deadly combination of fire and dry conditions. On the river float last weekend, friends who took a different route soon found themselves in water too shallow to float in. They had to get off their rafts and wade.

And you know those USDA hardiness zone maps that tell gardeners what plants can survive where in the U.S.? According to Creek Running North, they’ve been quietly revised at least twice to allow for a slowly warming North America.

Everybody look out for locusts and rivers of blood.

Happy Fourth of July, y’all!

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjHdBDnHEeU]

6 responses to “How’s Your Weather?

  1. Am I allowed to whisper quietly that I’m in Derbyshire? *grins* Not quite fallen over the border yet!

    But yes, weather everywhere seems to be behaving oddly. The problem over here is that we are so used to being temperate. Protected by the Gulf Stream and blocked by mainland Europe, any weather systems that develop on a large scale over continental America either burn themselves out over the Atlantic or go sailing past to land on Scandinavia as snow.

    We are just not used to extremes.

    One final request – locusts. Did you have to? Really? Given the number of times you’ve written about something I’ve either been thinking about, reading about or (in the case of water) playing about in…please, lass – give me a break!

    Happy 4th – however you are celebrating!

  2. Derbyshire, whoops. Not only am I geographically illiterate, I have never been to your part of the world, ever. (And I am really hoping that Erik is actually in San Antonio.)

    We’re not used to extremes here in WNC, either. This is a lush, green part of the world I’ve heard some compare to Wales and Ireland. This is Wales, but it’s a dead ringer for WNC:

    Drought does the health and beauty of the land right in.

    Uh, everybody watch out for clear skies and awesome weather! And windfalls of money! And FREE YARN!

  3. LOL! Good try – I’ll let you know!

    And yes, your part of the world is lovely. The Boss and I were looking at Asheville pics the other night and oooh-ing and aaaah-ing over them :-)

  4. Marie of Blue Ridge Blog always has some great local images:

    http://blueridgeblog.blogs.com/

  5. Jennifer, I apologize for popping in anonymously, but I no longer seem able to log on to WordPress. But this is Erik.

    Yep. San Antonio. It is a wet 4th of July. It’s about 10:30 at night, and I might have heard a bit of fireworks. But it’s one big slop pit outside. The rains have been bedeviling my whenever I want to go out and enjoy nature (without resorting to the foul weather gear I don’t really own). The oppressive humidity is cramping my fucking joie de vie, I tell you! This tony, historic neighborhood in which I live is, in fact, becoming infested with roaches and mosquitoes. If this keeps up, the tour buses might stop coming.

    But I’m glad to hear that, drought not-withstanding, you made it tubin’! That’s one of those vulgar past-times that actually looks like loads of fun. In central Texas the Guadalupe River is famous for summer tubing. I understand that on certain stretches of the river it is so thick with boozy, bobbing revelers, that, if you’re so inclined, you can walk from one bank to the other — “excuse me, just passing through, whoa there watch your head, oh thanks so much for the beer, please don’t mind me, just three more feet….”

    The Pink Panty Pull-Down sounds like it fits well within the descriptions of those beverages (such as Redbull and cheap mezcal) which are thus lauded: “Good? No. But by the time you’re halfway through the second one, they’re actually quite delicious.” And as much as I was beguiled by the ballsy cool-factor when I read of your intention to tube with the Economist in a Zip-Lock bag (well, cool in a nerdy way, which is, of course, double cool), I have to admit the resultant paper-maché came as no surprise.

    I’m glad to read that your summer is going so well! I just wish you weren’t watching your beautiful mountain community getting so dry and scorched.

    And, oh, Happy 4th!

    Erik

  6. Erik, floating down a river fucking RULES, even sans The Economist. We didn’t even float on the traditional tubes, but on ordinary pool floats, rafts and even an air mattress. I was in a little blue and white inflatable boat. No hordes of revelers on the French Broad; just a gaggle of kayakers and a few locals with fishing poles.

    PP Pull-Down is like pink soda, but slightly hoppy with a tang of booze. It’s magic lies not in its taste but in its efficiency — only a cup or 3 in the hot sun and you may find your chances of a random sexual encounter drastically increasing. Or so I am told.

    I have an uncool streak so wide it actually collapses in on itself and makes me cool. But sometimes even cool people like me have to realize that our cool dream is just not going to happen in the cool way we envision. There is a time and a place for The Economist, and bringing copies onto the RIVER is a classic example of a great idea that kind of sucks once you try it.

    I’m keeping my copies at home from here on out.

Leave a Reply

