First Day of Fall 2007

(Image: Uwe Herrman, “Autumn Leave”)

Here in northern hemisphere, fall arrives this afternoon at 1:51 EDT (09:51 UTC).

Here’s some good music and an odd little online game to help set the mood for Halloween, cool weather and the new season, which here in western NC is frankly spectacular.

MUSIC

Bat for Lashes: “What’s a Girl to Do?”

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1wnOUH2jk8]

I saw this video on the Asheville blog Makoviney.com and loved its October-y, Donnie Darko mood.

When I listen to Bat for Lashes, I hear Tori Amos, I hear Mazzy Star, I hear Bjork, I hear the Bird and the Bee… If you like dreamy, surreal, melodic pop music, you might like Bat for Lashes.

I love how the video is eerie but harmless, a dark fairytale that never quite menaces, as if being beautiful and talented somehow protects its fey heroine.

I think it’s a great example of film-making that’s involving and interesting but unashamedly low-budget. The video’s coolest effect doesn’t cost a dime.

************

Autumn is a Nick Drake time of year to me.

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIOW9fLT9eY]

Did the people behind this commercial really listen to this song?

I saw it written and I saw it say
Pink moon is on its way
And none of you stand so tall
Pink moon gonna get you all
Its a pink moon
Its a pink, pink, pink, pink, pink moon.

************

Uncle Tupelo’s beautiful old-timey instrumental “Sandusky” has always put the image in my mind of autumn and fall colors. You’ll have to download the Rhapsody player to listen to this one.

A GAME

“A Murder of Scarecrows” is a fun, simple black-and-white Neil Gaiman-esque game that involves crows and scarecrows.

************

Off to go finish an article, vacuum, wash dishes, study for a test, water my plants and maybe even mow the yard. And tonight I may try to watch the swifts, now about 3,000 strong, circling the downtown chimney they always come to around this time of year.

The first cold front of the season will drive them away, heading south on their journey to Peru. They’re only here in such numbers for a few weeks more.

Happy autumn. Wherever you are, I hope you’re enjoying the changes the new season brings to your world.

2 responses to “First Day of Fall 2007

Leave a Reply

