New Year’s Wishes for 2008

I know my wishes and felicitations are late, but I spent most of the week hammering out a last-minute project for a client who needed web copy for his website client, a company that sells golf carts.

I am now a minor expert on EZ-GO/TXT and Yamaha golf carts. Please, hold your applause and calm down.

You KNOW, the reason that I don’t post much about my bread and butter work here is that it’s not that interesting to write about, much less do. At times.

Nothing against golf carts. But a very high boredom threshhold and the inclination to work where the money is can get a girl pretty far in the writing profession, where people will frequently give you cachet you hardly merit just for being a writer, not to mention good pay for writing jobs too unromantic for the cafe crowd.

I’m taking it easy today after my golf cart marathon.

One thing I want to do over what remains of winter break, as well as cleaning and dusting my office and washing the cat pee out of the hammock I stored for the winter, perhaps foolishly, on the basement floor, is to spend a day trying to dig up an email contact who writes nonfiction nature and science screenplays for television.

I’ve devoted so much energy to school for so long, I’d like this to be the year that the two halves of my life begin balancing out.

Anyway. Here are my New Year’s wishes and goals for 2008:

Goals

1. Have my windows washed

2. Find a television screenwriter, nonfiction flavor, who will email with me

3. Do a regular physical activity that reduces stress: yoga, meditation, walking, biofeedback

4. Find a good housemate

5. Gather a group of interested people and start looking for a place to start a cohousing community: go to meetings about alternative housing and land ownership and attend the 2008 National Cohousing Conference

6. Get a passport already!

7. fix the skylight of doom (I wish I had a font that dripped blood for this one)

8. Sing at Jubilee and explore finding a singing gig

(I think I rather prefer goals you can cross off rather than nebulous resolutions you’ll blow off by mid-January.)

Two bloggers posted creative “resolutions” I loved. This one, from Walt Whitman via Blue Gal, I just can’t get out of my head:

whitman.jpg

Someone else (I can no longer remember who) wanted to live by Max Ehrmann’s Desiderata, for which I cannot blame them (click to enlarge):

desiderata.jpg

Wishes

I wish Michelle a healthy and beautiful baby girl.

I wish Don and the Makovinettes fun and incredible good times in their new home.

I wish Erik lucrative and fulfilling creative work.

I wish Pyracantha a year full of art.

I wish Anne a fulfilling semester.

I wish Kate sanity, rest and help.

I wish Wil would post more like this one. Wow. Excuse me while I go to the library.

I wish Cal would post more about her beautiful new arrival, whom this blog has been waiting to officially welcome.

For the third and last time, I wish everyone a happy, sexy, creative, musical, fulfilling, artistic, connected, rewarding, grand, successful and succulent new year.

Here’s to making it count.

4 responses to “New Year’s Wishes for 2008

  1. “project for a client who needed web copy for his website client, a company that sells golf carts” — eyes glazing over, soul crying out for mercy. ;-)

    I feel for you…I do roughly similar work — not writing copy, but writing code — for very, very boring corporate websites. It’s funny to think that the copy I cut-and-paste may have been written by an equally bored copywriter. I hadn’t really thought about it from that side before.

    Oh, and good luck with your Skylight of DOOM!!!

  2. LOL your soul crying out for mercy…

    Really, I am a fan of day jobs. A hundred years ago people working in the fields did not cry in the barn because they were not fulfilled as farmers, they just did their work and lived and had what fun they could. Honest work is a good thing, and so is a day’s pay, benefits, good food and paid bills.

    But as a student I really get the best of both worlds, a rich intellectual life along with decent work. And the whole point of school is to get me work that not only pays well but delights my heart. So good things all around, both now and in the future.

    And really, the golf carts were not that bad! I have a high boredom threshhold, and like a puppy, can find interest in almost anything.

  3. “I wish Cal would post more about her beautiful new arrival, whom this blog has been waiting to officially welcome.”

    *looks embarrassed*
    I shall get organised – I promise!

    “I wish everyone a happy, sexy, creative, musical, fulfilling, artistic, connected, rewarding, grand, successful and succulent new year.”

    And the same to you!

  4. The place of the father in the modern suburban family is a very small one, particularly if he plays golf.

Leave a Reply

