Sunday Song: Cat Power, “The Moon”

Will someone comment and let me know if the song-link below asks for a login? When I click, even logged out of the service (Imeem online music service), it doesn’t. That’s the experience I want for you.

*******

cat_power.jpg

I was making a playlist the other day about the moon. I came across this Cat Power song and it completely blew me away.

This song is so good that it kind of comes with requirements for special and respectful treatment. In my opinion, it almost insults this strikingly moody song to listen to it during the day. Night is best, and a touch of the blues (the bittersweet kind that open your heart to beauty rather than close it) isn’t a bad idea.

But no matter the time of day, this is a song of remarkable beauty, and pretty much a textbook example of the power of music to create atmosphere.

Cat Power, “The Moon”

Click here.

the moon is not only beautiful
it is so far away
the moon is not only ice cold
it is here to stay

when i lay me down
will you still be around
when they put me six feet underground
will the big bad beautiful you be around

everyone says they know you
better than you know who
everyone says they own you
more than you do

when i lay me down
will you still be around
when they put you six feet underground
will the big bad beautiful moon be around

cuz the moon is not only beautiful
it is so far away
the moon is not only ice cold
it is here to stay

everyone says they know you
better than you know who
everyone says they own you
more than you do

3 responses to “Sunday Song: Cat Power, “The Moon”

  1. Thanks, Jennifer. I really like Cat Power, but I don’t know this song. It’s playing right now.

    I had no problems getting it to play. And because I’m on a Mac (an old OS, at that), I’m thinking that if it works for me, it’ll work for most.

    A beautiful song! I’m playing it again.

    Thanks!

    Erik

  2. Oh, sorry. I should be more specific. No longin prompt. I was taken straight to a page where I could click on a “play” button and the song started right up.

  3. Erik, I am SO GLAD to hear that Imeem works — i.e., doesn’t ask for a login/password and takes you right to a site where you can hear the music without downloading anything or getting popups or malware.

    I’ll be using Imeem from now on out.

    http://www.imeem.com/

    Glad you liked the song! I should have mentioned that it’s from her latest CD, The Greatest, which is outstanding.

Leave a Reply

