Taking a Break

I think this blog is taking a brief break.

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EcUF3vGgwNc]

See you April 1!

9 responses to “Taking a Break

  1. LOL! Fluid dynamics students!

  2. I’ll miss your writing. See ya in April. Hell, the earth may move in its orbit and let me come out to Asheville and say hello in person, someday.

  3. Kate, my friend, come out anytime! I would love that.

  4. how’s the Latin treating ya?

  5. DANG, Shad, you were not kidding when you said that shit was hard!

    I made a high A on my first exam, but without a background in French/Spanish, I don’t know what I would have done. I would have been tearing my hair out. I don’t know how students who have no background with romance languages handle it.

    Latin is so hard that it has changed and challenged my ideas about how good I am at languages. I am not nearly as good as I thought I was. The insane declensions in an insane number of flavors is totally kicking my ass, and I no longer feel anywhere near as confident as I did early in the semester.

    The one cool benefit is that the class is chock full of nerds, as pretty much only a nerd would study such a hard, weird, cool, challenging, interesting language.

  6. I made up rhymes, (which didn’t really help, because after awhile everything is so similar that it becomes pointless) but I did find that if I just wrote everything (declensions, sentences, everything) out over and over and over, it got easier. writing them over and over and saying them aloud. I went through about 5 notebooks for latin I and II (and I write small). good luck!

  7. In my experience, your method does indeed work. Rote, brute, 3rd-grade, mindless memorization is key.

  8. Happy (late) birthday Jennifer!

  9. I don’t believe a word you say! I know you’re home practicing to be on Kollaberation dance marathon 2009, I’ve seen your moves.

    Sister, I’m with you in this journey and don’t know if I could do it without you. The edible garden needs attention soon, want to make a date? April 10th, a laugh to look forward to at least.

    smiles…

Leave a Reply

