Back to the Keyboard

After a much-needed three-week break from blogging, I’m back.

While I was away, I learned a few things:

It’s silly to keep up a blog, but leave your offline friends in the cold as to who you are lately and what you are up to.

Latin: Challenging, even for nerds.

Fifteen credit hours is for working students who are waitpeople, not working students with brain-intensive technical jobs. And different people need different levels of downtime. Respect.

So next semester I’m paring things down and trying to keep myself to 9-11 credit hours a semester, looking to spend a little less brainpower and a little more time knitting, cooking and spending time with friends. I’m like a broken record, aren’t I, with the obvious lessons that lie heavily in the hopper of my mind, waiting for me to learn.

The other day I watched a game of Pirate vs. Ninja Capture the Flag on the college quad (thank heaven for college kids). As I watched I overheard a late-20s college anarchist talk about playing 100-member anarchist urban capture the flag in Bloomington, IN. (They enlisted drunk yuppies in bars to shamble around scouting out the opposing team’s flag zone.)

As I observed to my friend Laura the other day, anarchists seem, no matter their age, to have stayed in touch with the things most people I know thought were important when they were teens (and even now seem to know are still important, but nowadays the first things to ignore): having fun, resting, dreaming, talking, reading, thinking, helping people, enjoying real leisure and pleasure without the worrisome pangs of “adult” guilt.

But is it “adult” to call any of those things less important than making money, being on time, being a professional, having prestige or a certain reputation, having the material markers of success or your own personal vision of a home or personal aesthetic, even when it involves significant expense?

I used to feel that mathematics had the medicine I needed: pure logic, spatial sense. Now I think maybe anarchists have it. Playing, resting, helping, thinking.

Anyway. I’m overdoing it this semester with the 15 credit hours and the financially rewarding but very demanding and technical new freelance client. I don’t know how much blogging will be going on in April, but I’ve decided to simply write when and what I feel called to. Another thing I thought about during my break was Why blog? Why should I be so foolish as to think my life is worth listening to?

But it’s in thinking that my life is not worth listening to that I am foolish. I love to read Wil’s book recs, Erik’s cat-care adventures, Kate’s trials… I even love to offer Michelle advice about what not to do with a teenage daughter. In short, people are interesting, even and perhaps especially people with blogs. People’s stories are wonderful.

Mine continue, starting now.

3 responses to “Back to the Keyboard

  1. Welcome back from the blogging sabbatical, Jennifer! And I’m with you. Anarchists rule!

  2. Glad to have you back! :-)

  3. No, no, anarchists DON’T rule. That’s the point, isn’t it? :-)

    Welcome back, Jennifer. You’ve been missed.

Leave a Reply

