The Best Lentil Soup In the World

I cooked up another fine North Indian meal for lunch; homemade chutney is my new obsession. If you are in the market for a new recipe, leave a comment and I will send you an amazing spicy North Indian vegetarian lentil soup recipe that takes zero prep and is ready in about 40 minutes. It’s my new favorite soup EVER — even the cookbook author (Madhur Jaffrey) says she eats this a few times a week, it’s so simple and delicious.

The sole drawback is it really needs red lentils (not the regular U.S. grocery store kind) and it doesn’t hurt to have some ghee and asafoetida on hand (though you can skip and substitute, and red lentils are the only thing that may require an extra trip).

(Not my soup — someone else’s. Mine’s good though!)

7 responses to “The Best Lentil Soup In the World

  1. That soup looks fabulous and intriguing.

    I have a website with free low calorie recipes and vegetarian recipes. Would you be interested in exchanging links?

    I have already added your link at Low Calorie Recipes: Related Blogs.

    Would you like to link back to me as well?

    The site is:

    Low Calorie Recipes

    And the url is:

    http://www.low-calorie-and-vegetarian-recipes-4u.com

    Thanks!

  2. I have experimented with a wide variety of lentil soups and consider the best one I’ve ever had to be from a mideastern restaurant in Dearborn, MI. I would love to try your recipe if it is still available. Thanks.
    Mel

  3. I would love the recipe if it is still available. Thanks.

  4. I also would love the recipee for “amazing spicy North Indian vegetarian lentil soup recipe that takes zero prep and is ready in about 40 minutes” if it is still available. I found Madhur jaffrey’s Red Lentil soup with cloves online, but it instructs puried. This doesn’t look the same.
    Thank you.

  5. Greetings from NZ
    I’m just starting to try these dishes and your recipe looks very interesting. Could you please send me the recipe. cheers

  6. I’m on a quest for a really great lentil soup.
    I’d appreciate it if you please send me your recipe.

  7. can you share your Best vegetarian lentil soup recipe–I can’t wait–sounds delish!!!

Leave a Reply

