My Friend Heather Is Going to Bolivia

And this is the email I just sent her.

“Eightball” is my nickname for her husband, and the “internet cafe across the street” is in Cochabamba, Bolivia, where she is flying this Saturday, there to work as a health clinic volunteer for the next two months.

Hey you! A final word to say I hope you have an amazing two whole months in Bolivia! I will check in on Eightball and the dogs.

You are so brave to do this. I admire you so much. I can’t wait to hear your stories because I have a feeling they will inspire me to someday be as brave as you are already. I’m the one that needed a push; you were already plenty brave enough.

The next time you think of yourself as ordinary or insignificant, imagine yourself flying into Bolivia by yourself for two months, not yet fluent in the language, never having been there before, armed only with chick lit and a deck of Blue Ridge Parkway playing cards.

What will I do without my knitting buddy for two months? (We should have a knit-a-long, and knit the same thing together on two different continents!)

You are amazing. I hope you have the time of your life.

Email me when you can from the internet cafe across the street!

“Let us risk the wildest places/Lest we go down in comfort, and despair.”

– Mary Oliver

Here is Heather’s new blog (it’s also in my sidebar), Chicken Lips. Expect posts and pics from Bolivia soon.

Leave a Reply

