Posters: Your Input Requested

Anybody out there got some educated input on posters?

As an intern for NEMAC, the science outreach organization where I am spending a semester-long internship, I’ve been working on posters for weeks, some days literally until my eyeballs ached and my head hurt.

I’ve gone for zero to Photoshop and InDesign in 3 months flat.

I welcome your input on what I’ve done so far.

4 responses to “Posters: Your Input Requested

  1. Hey, that’s good stuff; informative and eye-catching. As a professional graphic designer, I of course can offer detailed critique, but a large part of that is impacted by intent; how will they be displayed? What size will they be printed at, or will they be projected? Who’s your audience and are they captive or walking by, and how close will they be to posters? I’m a fan of your prose, and am happy to support you with your imagery. Just email me anytime for advice or actual help (I do plenty of pro bono work for local artists). Meanwhile, my hat’s off to you for being so dedicated in so many ways.

  2. Wow, Gratuitous, thanks for your generous input. For Gratuitous and others:

    1. How will they be displayed?

    As posters and on the sides of a traveling eco-show bus.

    2 What size will they be printed at, or will they be projected?

    Printed at 20X30 for posters, dimensions inknown for the bus.

    3 Who’s your audience and are they captive or walking by, and how close will they be to posters?

    The posters will be used to supplement a series of “water issues in WNC” movies meant to be shown to state and municipal decision-makers as well as a the general public of all ages. Audience in a lobby walking by, but semi-captive.

    Really don’t know how the bus will work, it’s a new wrinkle.

    I will email you with a later round — these are first drafts. Thanks again for your offer of help.

    I’m a fan of your prose, and am happy to support you with your imagery. Just email me anytime for advice or actual help (I do plenty of pro bono work for local artists). Meanwhile, my hat’s off to you for being so dedicated in so many ways.

  3. Well then, we might have resolution issues. No doubt Zen’s images are taken in high res, so as long as you are using the original file sizes, they will hopefully scale up to 20×30 nicely. However, larger printed sizes may suffer in quality when viewed close up, which would seem to be necessary as you have a good bit of text to read. The text, by the way, will scale up infinitely, as will the text boxes, as Indesign creates shapes in “vector” format (think geometric points and lines vs “raster,” flat color information, like a photo), and any solid colors created in the program. These posters obviously won’t end up considerably larger for the bus, as that would require “landscape” oriented posters anyway.

    We can talk more later if you like; I don’t know what sort of deadline you have, but placing the best quality photos now will save you time later.

  4. Dude, thanks for the tip. Deadline is mid-November.

Leave a Reply

