Compost

Image snitched from the Frog & Princess blog

Quite possibly the most magical thing I ever saw was compost.

A housemate and I composted all year, and I’d never done it before. When he emptied out the composter and I saw that all the carrot scrapings and mouldy potato peels had become moist, cakelike coal-black soil that smelled earthy and delicious and healthful and new–it was like a magic trick.

Even though I knew what would be in there, I had not expected it to be so black and richly gleaming, like a gourmet brownie or a $7 slice of truffle cake. To this day I’ve never seen anything quite like it.

I wanted to taste it, to eat it.

For Jeff Drum

2 responses to “Compost

  1. why the fuck would you wanna eat compost are you retarded? oh no your american your a fucking dumb ass

Leave a comment