200 Grams of Rice

rice.jpg

From the good old Beeb’s online news:

An internet word game has generated enough rice to feed 50,000 people for one day, the UN’s World Food Programme (WFP) has said.

The game, FreeRice, tests the vocabulary of participants. For each click on a correct answer, the website donates money to buy 10 grains of rice.

The game starts out easy and gets hard fast. Before finally missing the word “behoof,” I got to vocab level 45 and “donated” 200 grams of rice, about half a pound.

Play FreeRice here (and feel free to leave your scores in the comments).

Read the BBC article about the game here.

 

5 responses to “200 Grams of Rice

  1. How wonderful–an addictive game that helps to feed people! I got to Level 42, but missed on the word “Mouflon” (which is a small European sheep). My goodness, those words were hard!

  2. Fun, fun! I donated 320 grams of rice until I got stumped by dilatory=delaying.

  3. Dang, you go Anne! It is a pretty good game!

  4. I’m afraid I only got to level 38, but did donate 280 grams

Leave a comment